Home / Cars / Motorsports / News / Summer Nights Tarmac Sprint Saturday


Summer Nights Tarmac Sprint Saturday
Virgin Atlantic BRC Championships resume after mid-season break

Competitors will come under starters' orders for the second half of the 2009 Barbados Rally Club (BRC) Virgin Atlantic Driver's and Class Championships this weekend, when they gather for the BRC Summer Nights Tarmac Sprint on Saturday evening (July 25).

After a concentrated month of competition in May, during which the Automotive Art Shakedown Stages, Shell V-Power King of the Hill and Sol Rally Barbados 2009 offered them four points-scoring opportunities in the space of five weekends, competitors have been enjoying a welcome mid-season break.

While some have taken the chance for family holidays, others have been working to repair or upgrade their machinery in readiness for a full attack on the remaining six Championship rounds.

The Summer Nights Tarmac Sprint, round 7 of the Virgin Atlantic Championship, is slated to start at 7.00pm; special permission has been obtained by the BRC to use Pickerings Plantation as a spectator area, which will be floodlit - spectators are asked to be in place not later than 6.30pm, to allow for a prompt start. There will be one practice run, followed by three official timed runs.

The St Lucy course, popularly known as Pickerings, features a combination of challenges, offering something for everyone - the mixture of rough winding roads, tricky corners and high-speed sections means drivers are really tested, particularly at night, and particularly if the surface is slippy. Over the past two years, this event has attracted many hundreds of fans, the chance to see competition cars in action at night combining with generally cooler conditions to make for an unmissable occasion.

Paul Bourne has won the equivalent event for the past two years, with John Powell and Roger Skeete second and third in 2007, Skeete and Roger Hill occupying those positions last year. Sean Gill's Suzuki Swift was the highest-placed two-wheel-drive car in both years, with Jonathan Still's BMW M3 and the Swift's new driver Ian Warren also well into the top 10.

Competitors will be based in the car park of St Lucy's Parish Church, where they must arrive for scrutineering by 5.15pm. With 70 competitors having already scored points in the Virgin Atlantic Championships this year, the BRC expects the entry to approach the maximum of 40 starters. Entries are now open at Motorsport Services, located at DC Security Inc, Haggatt Hall, St Michael and will close at 6.30pm on Thursday (July 23).

Virgin Atlantic BRC Driver's Championship - after Round 6

1st Paul Bourne (M8-WRC Subaru Impreza WRC S9), 82 points
2nd Roger Hill (M8-WRC Toyota Corolla WRC), 81pts
3rd Neil Armstrong (M8-A Mitsubishi Lancer Evo VI), 54pts
4th Trevor Manning (M8-WRC Ford Escort WRC), 49pts
5th Barry Gale (M8-WRC Mitsubishi Lancer Evo VI), 43pts
6th Geoffrey Noel (P4 Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX), 40pts
7th Ian Warren (SM10 Suzuki Swift), 35pts
8th Roger Skeete (M8-WRC Subaru Impreza WRC S9 & S12), 31pts
9th, Jonathan Still (SM11 BMW M3), 28pts
10th equal Harold Morley (P4 Subaru Impreza N14) & Michael Worme (M8-
A & P4 Subaru Impreza STi), 19pts

Virgin Atlantic BRC Class Championship - after Round 6

Modified 8-WRC: 1st Bourne, 84pts; 2nd Hill, 82pts; 3rd Gale 61pts; etc
M8-A 1st Armstrong, 96pts; 2nd Kirk Watkins (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo
V), 61pts; 3rd Worme, 39pts; etc
Production 4: 1st Noel, 111pts; 2nd Morley, 79pts; 3rd Dean Serrao
(Subaru Impreza N12), 57pts; etc
SuperModified 11: 1st Still, 105pts; 2nd Nicholas Gill (Mazda 3),
66pts; 3rd Justin Campbell (BMW M3), 39pts; etc
SM10: 1st Warren, 102pts; 2nd Rhett Watson (Ford Escort MkI), 83pts;
3rd Ralph White (Toyota Starlet), 30pts; etc
SM9: 1st James Betts (Opel Corsa), 98pts; 2nd Josh Read (Toyota
Starlet), 66pts; 3rd Stuart White (Toyota Starlet), 43pts; etc
M7: 1st Adrian Linton (Vauxhall Astra GSi) & Freddie Gale (Toyota
Corolla RunX), 87pts; 3rd Kyle Catwell (Volkswagen Golf GTI), 46pts; etc
M6: 1st Edward Corbin (Daihatsu Charmant), 98pts; 2nd Danny Williams
(Ford Fiesta), 76pts; 3rd Jamal Brathwaite (Mitsubishi Mirage),
37pts; etc
M5: 1st Sean Cox (Suzuki Swift), 79pts; 2nd Dave Sealy (Toyota
Starlet), 20pts
P3: 1st Sean T Field (Peugeot 306), 55pts
P2: 1st Fabien Clarke (Suzuki Ignis Sport), 55pts