Home / Cars / Motorsports / News / Noel is the 2009 Barbados Karting Champion AGAIN!


Noel is the 2009 Barbados Karting Champion AGAIN!

The 15th November was the final day of the Frutee Barbados Karting Association's 10th calendar event for 2009. This day, sponsored by Rotherley Construction saw the conclusion to the years events with Matthew Noel crowned as the double 2009 Karting Champion.

In 2008, Noel was crowned the Barbados champ with a lead of 27 points over the second place finisher Nick Gill however this year he was able to seal his championship over Christian Hinds, 2nd, Allan Kinch 3rd, Mark Kinch 4th, Luke St. John 5th, Owen Yarde 6th, David Evelyn 7th and 2007 Champ Connor Roach 8th with a 32 point lead. Noel was fortunately enough to win both the first and second seasons with clear victories over all competitors in the Yamaha 310-championship class.

The 60 cc Easy Kart was dominated by Zane Malone who was also able to win the first season in convincing style. Second overall was cousin Joshua Maloney with third Lucas Springer who, with a late season charge was able to win the second half season.

Zane Malone

The Yamaha 230 class was won by Samantha Gill over Javani Smith, Joshua Parris, Saviola Thomas and Dillon Grey. Samantha won the first season but the second season was all the domain of the fast finishing Javani Smith.

Samantha Gill

The 270 Yamaha Sportsman Class had 8 competitors during the year but Alexander Gill was one of the only drivers to win both the fist and the second season, hands down, with a massive 173 points lead over second place finisher Tremaine Forde Catwell. Third in class was Benjamin Read, Raphael Russell 4th, John Foster 5th, Brian Hinds 6th, Nicholas Hinds 7th and Cole Gill 8th.

Orry Hunte

The Shifter class was dominated this year by Orry Hunte, Orry won easily the first and the second season with Sean Maloney 2nd, Mark Maloney 3rd, Stuart Maloney 4th, Mark Jordan 5th, former 2006 Champion Dane Skeete 6th, Paul Bourne 7th, Barry Primus 8th, Daniel Stafner 8th and Bret Clarke 9th.

The Barbados Karting Association holds 10 race events a year at the Bushy Park Racing Circuit in St. Philip with 5 classes, each of the classes allows competitors to compete at a skill level of their choice, they use three engine classes, Easy Kart, Yamaha and TM or Honda 2 stroke engines, details can be found on, Spectator entry to the circuit is free.

The BKA wishes to congratulate the 2009 Champion Matthew Noel.